Hindu Calendar - Calendar Systems around the World

This article was imported from HotelMule. You are welcome to comment out errors and help us improve it.

Twitter icon
Facebook icon
Google icon
LinkedIn icon

Although each geographical region of India has had its own calendar, all are based on an ancient calendar, the earliest time measurement system in India, found in texts thought to date from as early as 1000 B.C. Of the multitudinous regional Hindu calendars, used only for religious holidays, the majority divide an approximate solar year of 360 days into twelve months. Each day is 1/30th of a month, with the intercalation of a leap month every sixty months. Time measurements based on observations of the constellations are used along with the calendar. Each month is divided into two fortnights: krsna (waning or dark half) and sukla (waxing or bright half). In southern India, the month begins with the new moon. In other parts of the country, the full moon is considered to be the beginning of the month. Many references to the Hindu calendar (depending on the source) are given as follows: month, fortnight (either S=waxing or K=waning), and number of the day in that fortnight, e.g., Rama Navami: Caitra S. 9.        
The names of the Hindu months (with variant spellings) are given below, with the Burmese name for the month in brackets:
Caitra or Chaitra [Tagu]: March-April
Vaisakha [Kasone]: April-May
Jyeshta or Jyaistha [Nayhone]: May-June
Ashadha or Asadha [Waso]: June-July
Sravana [Wagaung]: July-August
Bhadrapada [Tawthalin]: August-September
Asvina [Thadingyut]: September-October
Kartika or Karttika [Tazaungmone]: October-November
Margasirsa or Margashirsha [Nadaw]: November-December
Pausa or Pausha [Pyatho]: December-January
Magha [Tabodwei]: January-February
Phalguna [Tabaung]: February-March


Add new comment

More information
  • Files must be less than 2 MB.
  • Allowed file types: png gif jpg jpeg.
More information
  • Files must be less than 2 MB.
  • Allowed file types: zip rar.